Politics and Health

This is going to be one of my very first blogs I’ve ever written, and I’ve decided to write it about politics. When I first started to think about writing a blog about politics my heart started beating fast. I told myself “you are crazy! Imagine the backlash you’ll get!” But being so incredibly invested in this particular election I knew I had to write something about it. I might be playing it safe by doing a different angle than pro Clinton, pro Bernie or pro Trump-ect. I am aware of that. But I’ve also realized here’s not a lot of new information out there. Things that needed to have been said have already been said-about both sides. What hasn’t been talked about as much is how it’s affecting our health.
I’ve had countless nightmares and lack of sleep caused by this election. I’ve gotten incredibly anxious when thinking about it. Like heart pounding anxiety. I’m sure I’m not the only one, especially those that have poured their heart and soul into a certain campaign. At the end of the day, we need to remember to let go of things. Let them be done for that night,for nothing else can be done.
No one is worth getting ill over, and having panic attacks while thinking about them.Everyone might be side eying me right now, telling themselves that no way have people behaved like that. But I have watched hysteria online. If that’s what it’s like online, I can only imagine what it’s like in person, with the door closed.
I get the passion, I really do! This election could DRAMATICALLY alter our lives, either way-and it’s scary to think about. The unknown is always terrifying, especially if you can’t stand to think about it. I am mainly writing this blog to help me, but I hope it helps others in the process. I sometimes need to sit down and remind myself that things might not be as drastic as they make it out. It still might not be good, but the President isn’t invincible. If people have enough of bad behavior, they’ll fight back. Fighting back is also scary to think about. I don’t want bloodshed because of this election-and that could happen with either outcome. I want people to carefully think about things before exploding in anger-doing something that has dire results. That imagary also sends me into panic mode.
In moments like this I suggest you turn off social media. Do something that helps YOU calm down. Medidate, pray, read, write, walk or watch something. Go outside and admire nature. Take pictures to remember that moment. Just remember while caring about your future you have to take care of yourself while you are in the moment, and that isn’t always as easy as it sounds.

I hope the best outcome happens in the election, no matter the results. And even if it doesn’t I have to believe that our nation can overcome this. In the mean time, don’t forget to take care of yourself. Health and politics can be a volatile combination, and it’s best to be on guard at all times when mixing the two together. Remember, you only get one life. Spend it on things that make you happy as much as possible for anger is a lonely master.

Leave a Reply

